Project Description

The Department of Philosophy is the credit  of  the  Science  College (Autonomous), Hinjilicut which was established in the academic session 1963-1964. Initially the college was affiliated to the Utkal University with only 32 seats each in Pre-University Science and Humanities.  It bloomed into Arts Degree College in the academic   session   1964-65.   It   offered   honours   teaching   facility   with only 32 seats in the academic   session   2019-20.

The Department of Philosophy in Science College (Autonomous) Hinjilicut, is one of the glorious Department since beginning of the college. The   Department   of   Philosophy, at present, runs by   two  faculty members Dr. Suraj Kumar Sahoo, Lecturer in Philosophy and Miss Gitanjali Bhuyan, Lecturer in Philosophy.   Dr. Sahoo is discharging his duties as the Head of the Department. He has been   giving   efforts   for   the   all-round   development   of   the Department.  The Department is distinctly known for its discipline and sincerity in every aspect.

Honours students of the Department of  Philosophy  are  not  only sincere  in  their  studies  but  also  the  take  an  active  role  in  various  Co-curricular activities like NSS, NCC, YRC and RRC. These organizations enable our students to understand through direct experience the realities of social life. The students get an opportunity to realize their responsibility to the community, to inculcate the value of citizenship and democratic leadership, to understand the value of constructive social ethics and also to inculcate a sense of patriotism, communal harmony and national unity.

About Course Programme

Under the guidelines of the UGC and the order of the  Dept.  of Higher Education, Government of Odisha, C.B.C.S.  State Model Syllabus has been introduced in  the Department  of  Philosophy  from  the  academic  session  2019-20 in  the  +3 stream.

Three-Year full time under graduate programme Philosophy is divided into six semesters.

How to enter into the course programme

The students are admitted into U.G. Course on the basis of their +2 mark. The sanctioned seats are 32. Due reservation has been provided to the candidates belonging to SC, ST, Physically Challenged and Sports category.

(CBCS) syllabus for the session B.A. students. 2021-22
SEM 1 CC 1 100 6 8
CC 2 100 6 8
GE-1 (P-1) 100 6 8
SEM 2 CC 3 100 6 8
CC 4 100 6 8
GE-1 (P-2) 100 6 8
SEM 3 CC 5 100 6 8
CC 6 100 6 8
CC 7 100 6 8
SEM 4 CC 8 100 6 8
CC 9 100 6 8
CC 10 100 6 8
SEM 5 CC 11 100 6 8
CC 12 100 6 8
DSE 1 100 6 8
DSE 2 100 6 8
SEM 6 CC 13 100 6 8
CC 14 100 6 8
DSE 3 100 6 8
PROJECT 100 6 8

For the Syllabus CLICK HERE


Name & Designation

Dr. Suraj Kumar Sahoo

Lecturer in Philosophy 

M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.

 Miss Gitanjali Bhuyan

Lecturer in Philosophy 


Student Project Work

Students of 6th Semester are assigned to prepare dissertations for DSE-4.